Longevity & Mitochondrial
SS-31 (Elamipretide) — Molecular Weight, Sequence & Clinical Evidence Reference
Elamipretide is a mitochondria-targeted tetrapeptide with one of the largest human trial datasets of any compound in this database — and a record in which several major endpoints were not met.
SS-31 (Elamipretide) at a glance
- Compound
- SS-31 (Elamipretide)
- Classification
- Mitochondria-targeted, cardiolipin-binding tetrapeptide
- Molecular formula
- C32H49N9O5 (free base)
- Molecular weight
- 639.80 g/mol (free base) · 749.2 g/mol (tris-hydrochloride)
- Amino acid count
- 4
- Amino acid sequence
- H-D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH₂
- Reported half-life
- ~3–4 h (plasma elimination, human)
- Research status
- FDA accelerated approval 2025 (Forzinity, Barth syndrome)
Values are reference figures compiled from the sources cited on this page, not batch specifications. Confirm against the certificate of analysis for any specific material.
01What is SS-31 (Elamipretide)?
Elamipretide, better known in the research literature as SS-31, is a four-residue aromatic-cationic peptide containing the non-natural residue 2',6'-dimethyltyrosine. Its alternating cationic-aromatic structure allows it to cross cell membranes without a transporter and to concentrate in the inner mitochondrial membrane, where it binds cardiolipin — the signature phospholipid of that membrane — and is proposed to stabilise cristae architecture and improve electron transport efficiency.
The molecular record is clean, with the usual salt-form caveat: the free base is C32H49N9O5 at 639.80 g/mol, while the approved drug substance is a tris-hydrochloride salt at 749.2 g/mol. Doses in the clinical literature are expressed as free-base equivalents, so a quoted molecular weight alone does not tell you the peptide content of a vial.
This compound is in the pilot set specifically because its evidence profile is uncomfortable in a way most reference pages avoid. Elamipretide has been studied across primary mitochondrial myopathy, Barth syndrome, geographic atrophy and cardiac ischaemia-reperfusion, generating far more human data than the typical research peptide — and several of those programmes, including the primary endpoint in MMPOWER-3, did not deliver the result sought. A reference library that reports only the mechanism and omits the trial outcomes is not reporting the science.
02Molecular information
| Molecular formula | C32H49N9O5 |
|---|---|
| Molecular weight | 639.80 g/mol (free base, average mass). The FDA-approved drug substance is the tris-hydrochloride salt, C32H49N9O5·3HCl, molecular weight 749.2 g/mol. |
| Amino acid count | 4 |
| Classification | Synthetic cell-permeable aromatic-cationic tetrapeptide; mitochondria-targeted cardiolipin-binding agent |
| CAS number | 736992-21-5 (free base) |
| PubChem CID | 11764719 |
| UNII / DrugBank | UNII 87GWG91S09 (elamipretide free base); UNII E40WZ3BK2D (elamipretide hydrochloride); DrugBank DB11981 (salt record DBSALT003412); ChEMBL CHEMBL3833370 |
| Synonyms | SS-31, MTP-131, Szeto-Schiller peptide 31, RX-31, Bendavia, Ocuvia, elamipretide hydrochloride, FORZINITY (US brand name) |
Two independent authoritative sources agree on the free base: PubChem CID 11764719 gives the formula C32H49N9O5, and ChEMBL CHEMBL3833370 gives C32H49N9O5 with molecular weight 639.80. The FDA-approved prescribing information for FORZINITY and the DailyMed label independently state the salt formula C32H49N9O5·3HCl with molecular weight 749.2, matching ChEMBL's separate salt record CHEMBL4298161 (C32H52Cl3N9O5, 749.19). Sources therefore differ only by salt form, not by disagreement: approximately 639.8 refers to the free base and approximately 749.2 to the tris-hydrochloride. Vendor listings frequently quote one number without stating which form it refers to, and some quote 639.8 for material actually supplied as an acetate or hydrochloride salt, so peptide content per vial cannot be inferred from a quoted molecular weight alone. Clinical doses are expressed as free base equivalents: the FDA chemistry review states 280 mg elamipretide free base is equivalent to 327.9 mg elamipretide tris hydrochloride.
03Amino acid sequence
Three-letter sequence
H-D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH2
Structural modifications
Position 1 is D-arginine (D-stereoisomer, not the natural L form). Position 2 is Dmt, 2',6'-dimethyl-L-tyrosine, a non-proteinogenic residue; the FDA label writes the same residue as '2,6-dimethyl-L-tyrosyl' (the primes in the literature notation refer to the phenol ring positions). The C-terminus is a primary amide, not a free carboxylate: the label's formal chemical name is 'L-Phenylalaninamide, D-arginyl-2,6-dimethyl-L-tyrosyl-L-lysyl-, hydrochloride (1:3)'. The approved drug substance is the tris-hydrochloride salt. Because Dmt has no assigned single-letter code and position 1 is a D-residue, a standard one-letter string cannot represent this peptide without loss of information, which is why that field is null rather than approximated.
04Pharmacokinetic information
| Reported half-life | Approximately 3 to 4 hours (plasma elimination half-life in humans) |
|---|
Half-life context
Human plasma elimination half-life of approximately 3 to 4 hours is stated in the FDA briefing document for NDA 215244 [7]; the same document gives Tmax 0.5 to 1 hour after subcutaneous dosing, absolute subcutaneous bioavailability approximately 92%, plasma protein binding approximately 39%, volume of distribution approximately 0.5 L/kg, and essentially complete renal recovery by 48 hours with no hepatic metabolism (sequential C-terminal degradation to inactive M1 and M2 metabolites). The approved FORZINITY prescribing information reports Tmax, bioavailability, Vd and protein binding but does not itself state a half-life value, so the 3 to 4 hour figure should be attributed to the briefing document rather than the label. A separate non-clinical figure of approximately 4 hours after intravenous administration in dogs is reported in the Alzheimer's Drug Discovery Foundation Cognitive Vitality review [8]. These plasma values must not be collapsed into a single universal number, and specifically must not be read as an effect-duration figure: the same review notes preclinical reports of roughly 5000-fold concentration of the peptide in mitochondria relative to other cellular compartments, so tissue and mitochondrial residence, and any pharmacodynamic effect duration, are not predicted by the plasma curve. No validated human pharmacodynamic half-life has been published. A phase 1 crossover study of injection-site reactions sampled only to 6 hours and did not compute a terminal half-life [9].
A peptide does not have one universal half-life. Reported values differ between plasma and terminal half-life, between species, between routes of administration, and between formulations and assay methods. Where sources disagree, this page gives the range and its context rather than a single number.
05Research focus
Primary research areas
- Cardiolipin binding at the inner mitochondrial membrane
- Mitochondrial bioenergetics and ATP recovery
- Primary mitochondrial myopathy
- Barth syndrome
- Geographic atrophy in dry age-related macular degeneration
- Ischemia-reperfusion and heart failure models
Research context
Elamipretide (SS-31, MTP-131) is a synthetic, cell-permeable, aromatic-cationic tetrapeptide, H-D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH2, in which Dmt is the non-proteinogenic residue 2',6'-dimethyltyrosine [1]. Its alternating cationic and aromatic residues allow membrane crossing without a transporter and accumulation at the inner mitochondrial membrane, where it associates with cardiolipin, the signature phospholipid of that membrane [1][2]. Birk and colleagues reported that SS-31 binds cardiolipin with high affinity, inhibits the peroxidase activity of the cytochrome c/cardiolipin complex, and in a rodent renal ischemia-reperfusion model preserved cristae architecture and accelerated ATP recovery on reperfusion [1]. Szeto subsequently framed the compound as a first-in-class cardiolipin-protective agent intended to restore mitochondrial bioenergetics rather than act as a general antioxidant [2]. Later biophysical work by Mitchell et al. refined the mechanism: in model bilayers and isolated mitochondria, SS-31 partitions into the membrane interfacial region with affinity and binding density related to surface charge, does not destabilise lamellar bilayers even at high occupancy, and modulates surface electrostatics and divalent-cation distribution, leading the authors to propose electrostatic tuning of the membrane interface rather than cardiolipin binding alone as a central component of its action [3]. This body of work is rodent, in vitro and biophysical, not human. The clinical programme, run by Stealth BioTherapeutics (renamed Mighty Therapeutics in 2026), tested subcutaneous elamipretide across several indications with largely negative pivotal outcomes. MMPOWER-3, a phase 3 trial in primary mitochondrial myopathy, randomised 218 participants to 40 mg/day subcutaneously or placebo for 24 weeks and missed both co-primary endpoints: the least-squares mean difference in 6-minute walk distance was -3.2 metres (95% CI -18.7 to 12.3; p = 0.69) and the difference in Primary Mitochondrial Myopathy Symptom Assessment total fatigue score was -0.07 (95% CI -0.10 to 0.26; p = 0.37); the paper is reported as Class I evidence of no effect [4]. The randomised crossover study in Barth syndrome (SPIBA-201/TAZPOWER Part 1, n = 12) likewise missed its primary endpoints (6-minute walk p = 0.97; total fatigue p = 0.89), with reviewers noting marked placebo-group improvement [7]. FDA nonetheless granted accelerated approval on 19 September 2025 for FORZINITY in Barth syndrome patients weighing at least 30 kg, based on knee extensor muscle strength as an intermediate clinical endpoint [5][6].
06Research evidence and limitations
The defining limitation is the distance between mechanistic plausibility and demonstrated clinical benefit. Elamipretide has one of the largest randomised human datasets of any compound circulating in the research-peptide market, and most of its pivotal endpoints were not met. MMPOWER-3 provides Class I evidence that elamipretide does not improve 6-minute walk distance or fatigue at 24 weeks in primary mitochondrial myopathy [4]. The randomised Barth syndrome crossover study missed both primary endpoints, and FDA reviewers attributed the large placebo-group improvement to probable effort bias in a very small, highly motivated population [7]. The September 2025 accelerated approval therefore rests on an intermediate clinical endpoint, knee extensor muscle strength, in an ultra-rare disease whose randomised phase enrolled 12 patients, supported by open-label extension and expanded-access experience [5][6]. By the regulatory definition of accelerated approval this is explicitly not verified clinical benefit; a confirmatory post-marketing trial was still only being initiated in the first half of 2026 [6]. The approval is also narrow in scope: Barth syndrome, weight at least 30 kg. It does not extend to primary mitochondrial myopathy, heart failure, geographic atrophy, renal disease, exercise performance, longevity, or any of the uses for which SS-31 is marketed to consumers, and it is not evidence for those uses. Reported benefit in geographic atrophy (ReCLAIM-2) reaches the public mainly through sponsor presentations and trade press rather than a peer-reviewed primary publication verified here, and the phase 3 ReNEW readout is not expected until late 2027. Much of the mechanistic literature originates from a small number of laboratories with inventor or sponsor ties. No validated human biomarker links plasma exposure to a mitochondrial pharmacodynamic effect, and the short plasma half-life relative to claimed durable effects is unresolved. Research-grade SS-31 is not the approved product and carries no equivalence to it.
Regulatory status
United States: FDA granted accelerated approval on 19 September 2025 to FORZINITY (elamipretide hydrochloride) injection, 80 mg/mL subcutaneous, indicated to improve muscle strength in adult and pediatric patients with Barth syndrome weighing at least 30 kg (NDA 215244, Stealth BioTherapeutics Inc., subsequently renamed Mighty Therapeutics). Approval was based on improvement in knee extensor muscle strength, an intermediate clinical endpoint; continued approval is contingent on verification of clinical benefit in a confirmatory trial, which the company stated in January 2026 it was on track to initiate in the first half of 2026. Commercial supply became available in late November 2025. FDA had previously delayed the decision and the application went through a resubmission cycle. The approval does not cover patients under 30 kg, for which the company reported planning further FDA discussions in early 2026 alongside an expanded access programme. Elamipretide is not approved for primary mitochondrial myopathy anywhere; the phase 3 MMPOWER-3 trial in that indication failed. A phase 3 trial (ReNEW) in geographic atrophy secondary to dry age-related macular degeneration is ongoing with a readout expected late 2027. No European Medicines Agency marketing authorisation was verified in this session; the January 2026 company pipeline update contained no EMA filing information. Research-grade 'SS-31' sold for laboratory use is unapproved material and is not FORZINITY.
07Research material and sourcing notes
Reported research-use reconstitution information
Not applicable to the approved product and not required. Per the FDA-approved FORZINITY prescribing information (regulatory source), the drug is supplied as a ready-to-use sterile, clear, colorless to yellow aqueous solution at 80 mg/mL in 3.5 mL single-patient-use vials for subcutaneous injection; no reconstitution step exists. Reconstitution protocols circulating for lyophilised 'SS-31' research powder (typically bacteriostatic water, gentle swirling) are vendor-derived, are not documented in peer-reviewed literature or in any regulatory document, and do not describe the approved product. No dosing guidance is given here.
Reported storage and stability information
From the FDA-approved FORZINITY prescribing information (regulatory source): store unopened vials refrigerated at 2°C to 8°C (36°F to 46°F). After the first dose is withdrawn, the opened vial may be kept either refrigerated at 2°C to 8°C or at room temperature 20°C to 25°C (68°F to 77°F). Discard the vial 8 days after first opening even if product remains. The label does not specify a light-protection requirement. Storage conditions for research-grade lyophilised SS-31 are vendor-derived and are not covered by this labelling.
Identity and sourcing notes
The single largest identity issue is form ambiguity. 'SS-31' and 'elamipretide' name the same peptide, but the approved medicine is a specific tris-hydrochloride salt in a specific ready-to-use aqueous formulation, whereas research-channel material is usually a lyophilised powder of unstated salt form (acetate and hydrochloride both circulate). A quoted molecular weight of 639.8 refers to the free base and 749.2 to the tris-hydrochloride; neither by itself tells you the net peptide content of a vial, and a vial labelled by gross mass of an acetate salt contains less peptide than the same gross mass of free base. Synthesis is non-trivial: Dmt (2',6'-dimethyltyrosine) is a specialty non-natural amino acid, the peptide is C-terminally amidated, and position 1 must be the D-enantiomer of arginine. Plausible failure modes are therefore D/L epimerisation at position 1, incomplete or absent C-terminal amidation, substitution of ordinary tyrosine for Dmt, and deletion sequences. A certificate of analysis can support net peptide content, gross purity by RP-HPLC, and mass confirmation by MS. It cannot by itself establish stereochemistry at position 1, cannot distinguish Dmt from an isobaric or near-isobaric alternative without orthogonal confirmation, and typically says nothing about endotoxin, residual solvents, or counterion identity unless those tests are explicitly reported. COAs supplied by the seller rather than an independent laboratory, or lacking an instrument trace and a batch number matching the vial, carry limited evidentiary weight. This is informational only and is not a recommendation to obtain or use unapproved material.
Reconstitution ratios and storage windows are handling conventions that depend on the intended working concentration, the solvent, the container and the study design. They are reported here with their source and are not intrinsic properties of the molecule.
08References and evidence
Primary sources
- The mitochondrial-targeted compound SS-31 re-energizes ischemic mitochondria by interacting with cardiolipinprimary literature
- First-in-class cardiolipin-protective compound as a therapeutic agent to restore mitochondrial bioenergeticsreview
- The mitochondria-targeted peptide SS-31 binds lipid bilayers and modulates surface electrostatics as a key component of its mechanism of actionprimary literature
- Efficacy and Safety of Elamipretide in Individuals With Primary Mitochondrial Myopathy: The MMPOWER-3 Randomized Clinical Trialclinical trial
- FORZINITY (elamipretide) injection, for subcutaneous use — Highlights of Prescribing Information, NDA 215244regulatory
- Application Number 215244Orig1s000, Chemistry Reviewregulatory
- FDA Briefing Document, NDA 215244, Elamipretide (advisory committee materials)regulatory
- SS-31 (also known as Elamipretide, Bendavia, MTP-131) — For Researchersreview
- Interventions with Potential to Mitigate Injection Site Reactions Following Subcutaneous Elamipretide Administration: A Phase 1, Crossover Studyclinical trial
Chemical and molecular databases
- PubChem CID 11764719 (Elamipretide)
- ChEMBL CHEMBL3833370 (Elamipretide)
- DrugBank DB11981 (Elamipretide)
- DailyMed — FORZINITY (elamipretide hydrochloride) label, UNII 87GWG91S09 / E40WZ3BK2D
- Stealth BioTherapeutics commercial and R&D pipeline update, January 2026
- Barth Syndrome Foundation — FDA approves first medication for Barth syndrome (19 September 2025)
Molecular identity and chemical properties on this page are compiled from the referenced scientific and chemical databases above. Pharmacokinetic values are reported from published literature where available. Handling information is attributed to its source type — published literature or manufacturer technical documentation — wherever it appears. Values vary by molecular form, salt form, formulation, assay methodology, species and study conditions.
10Frequently asked questions
What is elamipretide (SS-31)?
Elamipretide, also called SS-31 or MTP-131, is a synthetic four-residue peptide that concentrates in mitochondria and associates with cardiolipin in the inner mitochondrial membrane. It was developed by Stealth BioTherapeutics (now Mighty Therapeutics) and received FDA accelerated approval in September 2025 as FORZINITY for Barth syndrome in patients weighing at least 30 kg.
What is the molecular weight of elamipretide?
The free base has the formula C32H49N9O5 and a molecular weight of about 639.80 g/mol, confirmed by both PubChem (CID 11764719) and ChEMBL. The approved drug substance is the tris-hydrochloride salt, C32H49N9O5·3HCl, molecular weight 749.2 g/mol, as stated in the FDA prescribing information. Quoted values differ only because of salt form.
What is the amino acid sequence of elamipretide?
The sequence is H-D-Arg-Dmt-Lys-Phe-NH2. Position 1 is D-arginine, position 2 is the non-natural residue 2',6'-dimethyltyrosine (Dmt), and the C-terminus is amidated. No standard one-letter string exists, because Dmt has no single-letter code and position 1 is a D-enantiomer, so writing one would misrepresent the structure.
What is the reported half-life of elamipretide?
The FDA briefing document for NDA 215244 gives a human plasma elimination half-life of approximately 3 to 4 hours, with Tmax of 0.5 to 1 hour and subcutaneous bioavailability around 92%. An older non-clinical review reports about 4 hours after intravenous dosing in dogs. The approved label itself does not state a half-life. Plasma half-life does not describe effect duration.
What is elamipretide studied for?
It has been studied in randomised trials in primary mitochondrial myopathy, Barth syndrome, heart failure with reduced ejection fraction, and geographic atrophy in dry age-related macular degeneration, and in rodent models of ischemia-reperfusion and renal injury. Only the Barth syndrome indication has an approval, and that is an accelerated approval based on an intermediate endpoint.
Did the MMPOWER-3 trial succeed?
No. MMPOWER-3 randomised 218 people with primary mitochondrial myopathy to 40 mg/day subcutaneous elamipretide or placebo for 24 weeks and missed both co-primary endpoints: the difference in 6-minute walk distance was -3.2 metres (95% CI -18.7 to 12.3; p = 0.69) and the fatigue score difference was -0.07 (95% CI -0.10 to 0.26; p = 0.37). It was reported as Class I evidence of no effect.
Is research-grade SS-31 the same as the approved FORZINITY product?
No. FORZINITY is a specific ready-to-use aqueous solution of elamipretide tris-hydrochloride at 80 mg/mL, manufactured and released under FDA-approved specifications. Research-grade SS-31 is unapproved lyophilised material, usually of unstated salt form, made outside that framework. Approval of FORZINITY for Barth syndrome is not evidence about any other product, indication, or use.
Editorial and review information
- Compiled by
- NuGenia Research Editorial Team
- Scientific review
- Pending qualified reviewer
- Last reviewed
- Data confidence
- high
This page is a molecular and bibliographic reference compiled from the sources cited above. It is not medical advice, and it does not describe or recommend any use of this compound in humans or animals.
9 data points on this page are held in the library’s verification queue for confirmation against a further primary source. Where a value is contested, the page says so in the relevant section rather than presenting a single figure.